The Institute of Meat

Industry achievers recognised at Institute of Meat and Worshipful Company of Butchers Annual Prizegiving

Industry achievers recognised at Institute of Meat and Worshipful Company of Butchers Annual Prizegiving

In a tradition that dates back over 25 years, the meat and poultry industry gathered today to celebrate excellence amongst its own, at the IoM and WCB Annual Prizegiving. The event took place at The Painters’ Hall in London and was attended by over a hundred members of the wider industry.

The prizegiving was established to reward the achievements of butchers, their employers and training providers throughout the UK. A total of thirteen awards were given; this year seeing the first ‘Best Abattoir Worker achieving WATOK’ award, in recognition of the importance of this element of the industry.

The categories and prize winners were:

Best New Apprentice Progressing on a Trailblazer Standard MEAT Ipswich Seymour Manufacturing International Ltd Harvey Woolgar
Best Retail Butchery


MEAT Ipswich The National Federation of Meat and Food Traders’ Elsie Yardley
Best Meat Processing


Dunbia Training Academy The Perpetual Cup

Worshipful Company of Butchers

Joshua Bridges
Best Poultry Industry


Southern Regional College Poulters’ Company Sinead McVeigh
Best Independent Retail Meat Apprentice MEAT Ipswich Paul Edkins Memorial Cup

Worshipful Company of Butchers

James Taylor
Best Meat Manufacturing Apprentice MEAT Ipswich Oakfield (Foods) Ltd Dawid Waszkiewicz
Best Abattoir Worker who has achieved WATOK in 2017 Fast Forward Vets Ltd Windsor Food Machinery Ltd Karl Eastoe
Meat Apprentice Showing Most Management Promise Remit Training Kenneth Jenkins Challenge Cup Worshipful Company of Butchers Luke Petts
Best Company Training


Crosby Butchery Training Fred Mallion Bowl

Institute of Meat

Booker Group
Best Meat Training Provider

of the Year

Crosby Butchery Training Yandell Publishing Crosby Butchery Training
Lord Graham Endeavour


MEAT Ipswich Institute of Meat Michael Brett
Champion Meat Apprentice of the Year MEAT Ipswich/Simpsons Butchers AHDB Beef and Lamb


James Taylor


The overall winner, chosen from the category winners, was James Taylor, employed by Simpsons Butchers, Sleaford and trained by Meat Ipswich. He receives a years honorary membership of the IoM and a cash prize of £500. Commenting on why the judges selected James, IoM Chief Executive, Keith Fisher (MB.Inst.M) said,

‘James embodies tomorrows generation of highly skilled craft butchers. For a young man in his early twenties he has already achieved so much; his accolades include a gold medal at WorldSkills UK Butchery competition last year. He is creative, precise and ambitious – a deserving winner indeed.’

In recognition of the skills and high standards upheld by more experienced butchers, eight professional butchers were also awarded Institute of Meat Accredited Master Butcher status. They were:

Martin McIntyre, Simon Bennett, Sue Winders, Henry McAlonan, Mike Roach, Kevin Culverwell, Arthur Burke and Thomas Hughes.

Bill Jermey, Chairman of the Institute of Meat said of the Prizegiving,

‘The meat and poultry industry is not only a proud industry, but a forward-thinking one too. It is our mission at the IoM to encourage, inspire and reward; this is at the heart of the Prizegiving event. I’m especially delighted to see our colleagues in the abattoir sector joining the event this year. I hope that with the new abattoir apprenticeship standard now approved we’ll see more nominations for abattoir workers in the years to come.’